Florida DUI Laws Provide Harsh Penalties for Drunk Drivers
Experienced Bradenton DUI lawyers fight to protect your rights and minimize your consequences
No one sets out to drink and drive. But drinking impairs judgment and we make decisions that we wouldn’t have made while sober, which sometimes means deciding to drive even when we shouldn’t. Drinking and driving in Florida can result in serious consequences, even if you don’t have an accident. If you are caught driving under the influence, DUI, Florida’s harsh DUI laws could mean that you lose your driving privileges, pay hefty fines or even wind up in jail.
If you are charged with DUI, the Bradenton DUI lawyers at Carlson, Meissner, Hart and Hayslett, P.A.are on your side. Our DUI lawyers work hard to help you avoid paying the consequences for one bad decision for the rest of your life. Our dedicated DUI attorneys fight to protect your legal rights and minimize the consequences you face. Our goal is protecting your driving privileges and keep you out of jail when possible.
What are the penalties for drinking and driving in Florida?
Even if you have been charged with your first DUI offense, Florida laws provide potentially harsh penalties. The possible consequences for a first DUI offense include:
- $500 to $1,000 fine
- License suspension of six months to 1 year
- Up to six months jail time (possible not mandatory)
- Potential installation of an ignition interlock device
You must have a blood-alcohol content of 0.08 percent or higher to be charged with a DUI if you are 21 or older. If you are driving a commercial vehicle, you need only have a BAC of 0.04 percent. If you are under 21, you need only have a BAC of 0.02 percent. If you have a higher blood-alcohol content, the penalties can be increased even for a first-time offense.
For each subsequent offense, the penalties can be even more severe. You can face as much as a year in jail, fines of up to $5,000, and a license suspension of up to 10 years. You can even permanently lose your driving privileges.
Besides these criminal penalties, a DUI conviction can result in hardships getting employment or even renting an apartment. These penalties can follow you for years after your conviction, even if you made a one-time mistake that didn’t result in harm to anyone.
Our Bradenton DUI lawyers fight to avoid these penalties or to avoid them completely. Our dedicated attorneys are ready to help you if it’s your first offense, or your fifth.
How we help drivers to avoid unnecessarily harsh DUI penalties
Even if you have been charged with a DUI after failing field sobriety tests or registering positive on a blood-alcohol test, it doesn’t mean the penalties are certain. Our DUI defense attorneys have the experience and skill needed to get your penalties minimized or have your charges thrown out.
Challenging field sobriety tests and breathalyzer tests are one of the most common ways to have DUI charges dismissed. Field sobriety tests are notoriously subjective, and they are not a reliable indicator of intoxication. Meanwhile, the equipment used for breathalyzer tests can give a false reading, especially if it is not maintained appropriately.
Our DUI lawyers may be able to have your case dismissed on these or other grounds, or we may be able to negotiate a plea agreement on your behalf. Your plea agreement may involve performing community service or getting further driver education in place of paying fines or serving jail time.
Work with experienced Bradenton DUI lawyers to protect your driving privileges and your future. Contact us for a free initial consultation at 941-202-4600
Everyone makes mistakes, but everyone is entitled to legal representation to protect their rights and future. The Bradenton DUI lawyers at Carlson, Meissner, Hart and Hayslett believe that you deserve the best legal defense, and we will fight to give it to you. Call (941) 202-4600 for a free consultation or contact us online.